Published: Tue, July 10, 2018
Sport | By Cameron Gross

Dominika Cibulkova accused of 'poor sportsmanship' during Wimbledon victory

Dominika Cibulkova accused of 'poor sportsmanship' during Wimbledon victory

Camera IconDominika Cibulkova of Slovakia speaks to a match official after a line call during the women's singles match against Su-Wei Hsieh of Taiwan on the seventh day at the Wimbledon Tennis Championships in London, Monday July 9, 2018.

Hsieh argued, correctly, that the point should be replayed but the umpire would not budge, saying she could not remember if Hsieh's shot had gone in.

Hsieh's protests to the umpire prompted the match referee to come on court to intervene as the argument lasted nearly seven minutes before the point was finally replayed, much to Cibulkova's disgust.

It happened when Hsieh, who beat the world No 1 Simona Halep in the third round, was serving at 4-5, 0-30 in the first set. It was all wrong, I think.

'But it never happened to me that the umpire changed the decision.

"It was really ridiculous for me. It was really ridiculous for me".

'They changed their mind.

"I kind of know how she plays", added Ostapenko.

"Is it my fault you don't remember if she hit the net or if she put it on my side?" she said.

France say Thierry Henry in 'wrong camp' for World Cup semi
Manchester City midfielder Kevin de Bruyne admits he had never heard of PSG star Kylian Mbappe previous year . The victor will face either Croatia or England, who play on Wednesday, in Moscow´s Luzhniki Stadium on Sunday.

There was no let-up from Ostapenko throughout the 82-minute contest as she struck the ball with such ferocity that Cibulkova might have wanted to take cover as she watched 33 crisp winners fly off Ostapenko's racket, to her six. She made a decision.

"It really messed with me, then I tried to just calm down, to play my game".

Not for the first time at Wimbledon, Dominika Cibulkova was left agitated by a decision that went against her.

"This question I've been asked so many times this week, last week".

"I had exact the same point, and the point was given to the other player".

'I had no sympathy because it's just about the chair umpire.

"I'm a fair player". When I feel like this is something that should not happen, I would be maybe sympathy with her.

Cibulkova was already seething over her dumping from the seedings at the All England Club to accommodate Serena Williams and the Slovakian couldn't hide her frustration in the 10th game.

The 12th-seeded Ostapenko was given a code violation for receiving coaching while beating Aliaksandra Sasnovich of Belarus 7-6 (4), 6-0.

Like this: