Published: Thu, May 17, 2018
People | By Leon Thompson

Mamata Banerjee says BJP is attacking democracy, agrees with Mayawati

Mamata Banerjee says BJP is attacking democracy, agrees with Mayawati

"It is a conspiracy to destroy the constitution made by Baba Saheb Ambedkar, since they (BJP) came to power they have been misusing government machinery, thereby attacking democracy", reports quoted Mayawati as saying. "However, I asked them to get in touch with our national leader Mayawati.I am firmly with JD (S)", he told reporters in Bengaluru. Mayawati reportedly brought Sonia Gandhi and Janata Dal-Secular chief HD Devegowda together to keep the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) at bay in Karnataka.

On the other hand, the Congress and the JD (S), which have already announced a post-poll tie-up, have won 78 and 37 seats respectively and claimed before Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala to have numbers to form government in the state. Mayawati, sources said, subsequently spoke to Sonia and suggested that Congress extend support to JD (S) to which she agreed.

BSP supremo Mayawati on Thursday came down heavily on both the BJP and the Congress over the prevailing political situation in Karnataka. The pro-Dalit party managed to win one seat, its first in the state.

Shobha Karandlaje accuses Congress of tapping BJP leaders' phones
On the other hand, BJP is leading on 37 seats in Lingayat-dominant constituencies, Congress not leading even at half the numbers. India's lawmakers are notoriously open to horse-trading and the BJP war chest is overflowing after four years in power in Delhi.

The lone BSP MLA Mahesh today claimed that he was approached by BJP office-bearers to support the party in its government formation efforts. Mayawati had earlier bailed out Congress government in Uttarakhand in 2016 and its two MLAs voted for it in the floor test following disqualification of its nine MLAs who defected to BJP camp.

Mamata Banerjee has always been at the centre of forming a "federal front" to fight against BJP in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. In her tweet, she said, "Congratulations to the winners of the Karnataka elections".

Like this: