Published: Wed, May 16, 2018
Industry | By Terrell Bush

Karnataka election results: Counting of votes underway

Karnataka election results: Counting of votes underway

Though the full results will only be declared sometime after noon, the trends will begin coming in within the first hour of counting, giving an initial picture of which way Karnataka has swayed.

The prohibitory orders across Karnataka will remain in place till Tuesday midnight.

According to the CMS, the money spent by various political parties and their candidates in the Karnataka assembly polls is in the range of Rs 9,500-10,500 crore, which is more than twice of what was spent in the previous assembly poll in the state in 2013.

Police have banned celebrations and bursting of crackers around 38 counting centres; additional forces have been deployed.

Meanwhile, repolling is underway polling booth number 20 and 21 in Kushtagi assembly constituency and Hebbala constituency's Lottagollanahalli booth number 2.

The fight for the last southern fortress - Karnataka - which BJP is so keen to get under its reign will begin at 7 am Saturday, May 12.

Apple and Samsung back in court
A $1.05 billion jury verdict from 2012 has been whittled down by a previous retrial in 2013, along with appeals and adjustments. Samsung Electronics Co., 11-cv-01846, US District Court, Northern District of California (San Jose).

Bengalureans have been at the receiving end for registering a voter turnout of just 55.34% this Assembly elections. Some have said the Congress led by its chief ministerial Siddaramaiah, will emerge as the single largest party, while the others have shown the BJP with maximum seats.

Election officials had said yesterday that an estimated 70 per cent of the electors had cast their votes. It was 65 per cent in 2008 and 2004, 69 per cent in the 1989 and 1994 and 69 per cent in the 1990 elections, he said.

Elections in two constituencies, Jayanagar and Raja Rajeshwari Nagar, both in Bengaluru District, were postponed earlier.

The Karnataka Assembly constitutes of 224 seats.

The state has over 5.07-crore electorate, including 2.62-crore men and 2.5-crore women. Census India records that 41.1% of the population is below 18 years, which brings the eligible voters in the city to about 77.22 lakh.

Like this: