Published: Mon, April 16, 2018
People | By Leon Thompson

Owaisi's AIMIM not to contest Karnataka polls, will support JDS

Owaisi's AIMIM not to contest Karnataka polls, will support JDS

All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen chief Asaduddin Owaisi announced that his party would not contest in the upcoming Karnataka Assembly elections. He dismissed the reports circulating on social media that the AIMIM had withdrawn all its candidates from Karnataka. And we feel that the two national parties have failed to live up to the aspirations and hopes of the people of Karnataka and that is why we made a decision to support the JD (S) completely. "We want non-Congress and no- BJP govt in Karnataka for a qualitative development". I will address public meetings in support of the JD (S) if there is need,"Owaisi said. And it is in the interest of Karnataka, in the interest of the nation, that a non-Congress, non-BJP government comes into power both in Karnataka and subsequently whenever the Parliament elections are held".

Owaisi denied the charges that split in Muslim votes would benefit the BJP.

Owaisi also refuted the allegations that the AIMIM meant to cut votes so as to benefit the BJP. "We did not contest in Gujarat, Jharkhand, Jammu and Kashmir. What happened to Congress there?" he said, reported ANI.

Sacramento native dominates street race in Long Beach
Because the pits were closed, Bourdais could not take service in his pit but Dixon took service despite being behind Bourdais. However, race control ordered Bourdais to give back the position because he used part of the pit exit lane to make the pass.

On Sunday, Congress announced its first list of 218 candidates for the polls, which includes the names of Chief Minister Siddaramaiah and state party chief G Parameshwara.

Last month, the party had indicated that it would field candidates in the May 12 Assembly polls in Karnataka. He added that the party will support and campaign for the candidates of the Janata Dal-Secular (JDS) party instead.

The BSP and the JD (S) have entered into an alliance to contest the Karnataka Assembly polls together.

Like this: