Published: Mon, April 16, 2018
People | By Leon Thompson

Congress' first candidates list out, Siddaramaiah to contest from Chamundeshwari

Congress' first candidates list out, Siddaramaiah to contest from Chamundeshwari

The ruling Congress party in Karnataka on Sunday evening released its first list of 218 candidates for the upcoming state elections for 224 seats.

The list was made public following a meeting of the Congress Central Election Committee. The biggest challenge for BJP has been in Karnataka, where Congress Chief Minister Siddaramaiah's government last month declared the Lingayat community as a separate religion, effectively giving the community special benefits stalling the BJP move to win over them and to include in Prime Minister Narendra Modi's rally.

Contrary to media reports, Siddaramaiah will not contest from any other constituency, especially Badami in Bagalkot district as speculated, with the party fielding Devraj Patil from it.

Karnataka will go to polls on May 12 to elect its representatives for the 225-member assembly.

Dubai World Cup winner Thunder Snow to be aimed at Breeders Cup Classic
Others worth a mention in the current list are West Coast 9/1, Hofburg 14/1 and the hugely popular Accelerate, also trading 14/1. Mubtaahij made up the places but the victor was never in trouble, delighting followers who had him backed at a stunning 8/1.

Ahead of Sunday's meeting, six leaders including Mr Shah, Union ministers Piyush Goel and D V Sadananda Gowda, H N Ananth Kumar, general secretary P. Muralidhar Rao, and state unit president B.S. Yeddyurappa, held a marathon meeting in Hubballi on Thursday and discussed the second list at length.

The party has given tickets to 15 women candidates, including Women and Child Welfare Minster Umashree from Tardal, Lakshmi Ravindra Hebbalkar from Belgaum Rural, Anjali Nimbalkar from Khanapur, Soumya R. from Jayanagar and Sushma Rajgopal Reddy from Bommanahalli. As per information, it has finalized the names of 80 candidates.

The Congress returned to power after a decade in 2013, winning 122 seats and Siddaramaiah breaking a 40-year-old record to complete the five-year term as Chief Minister. Apart from the BJP and Congress, the Janata Dal Secular party, in alliance with Mayawati's Bahujan Samaj Party for the Karnataka polls, has already announced candidates for 126 constituencies.

Like this: