Published: Mon, April 16, 2018
Sport | By Cameron Gross

5th anniversary of Boston Marathon Bombing, memorial held

5th anniversary of Boston Marathon Bombing, memorial held

A wreath was laid at the finish line of the Boston Marathon this Sunday morning to mark the anniversary of the deadly bombing five years ago.

Lisa Larsen Weidenbach was the last USA woman to win this race, in 1985, but a group of highly talented home runners may find the way to amend that record against an worldwide field whose most obvious contender is Kenya's defending champion Edna Kiplagat.

On the eve of the 2018 marathon the mayor believes the tragedy has united the city.

Shalane Flanagan becomes the first US woman since 1977 to win NYC Marathon.

Galen Rupp wins the Chicago Marathon in October 2017.

Shareholder Visionary Asset Management INC Decreased Abbvie INC (ABBV) Stake
In related news, EVP Carlos Alban sold 83,574 shares of the company's stock in a transaction that occurred on Thursday, March 1st. Investors of record on Friday, April 13th will be issued a $0.96 dividend. 139 funds opened positions while 448 raised stakes.

For all the impact made by Hasey in recent months, she was soundly beaten over 15 kilometres recently by Molly Huddle. Hasay, who is part of the Nike Oregon Project, finished in third place previous year.

The city's triathlon team, Zoom Mutisport, has been doing what they call the #BostonRun for six years, but according to the club's Instagram, the event has turned into a tribute to those affected by the 2013 bombings. After winning the New York Marathon in November - becoming the first American woman to take the title since 1977 - Marblehead, Mass., native Flanagan is a favorite in Boston.

Meanwhile, Kirui aims to repeat last year's success.

More recently Rupp has become only the second U.S. runner to break the hour mark for the half-marathon.

Men's victor Geoffrey Kirui running the 2017 Boston Marathon in Nike.

Like this: