Published: Wed, March 14, 2018
People | By Leon Thompson

UP Bypoll results: SP takes slender lead over BJP in Phulpur

UP Bypoll results: SP takes slender lead over BJP in Phulpur

Byelections in Uttar Pradesh, necessitated after Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya vacated their seats in Gorakhpur and Phulpur constituency, respectively, on taking office, are being seen as a prestige battle for the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP).

Samajwadi Party candidate Praveen Nishad is leading by 4000 votes in Gorakhpur Assembly constituency. In Gorakhpur, a seat represented by Yogi Adityanath for five consecutive terms, the Samajwadi Party has fielded Praveen Kumar Nishad, the son of Nishad Party chief Sanjay Nishad, as its candidate.

Phulpur bypoll: Samajwadi Party's Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel leading by 14,239 with 111668 votes, BJP's Kaushlendra Singh Patel second with 97369 votes after ten rounds of counting.

Counting of votes for the Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha bypolls will be held on Wednesday amid tight security arrangements.

Major ruckus in UP Assembly as media barred from counting centre.

After round 1 of counting, the BJP was leading in Gorakhpur by just around 2,000 votes.

Stock Alert on HCP, Inc. (NYSE:HCP) Shares
In practice, however, the reverse is true. 200 SMA Movement: The 200 day moving average may be the grand-daddy of moving averages. It compares the magnitude of recent losses and gains so as to assess the overbought or oversold conditions of a particular stock.

However, a large chunk of the Muslim votes, which used to traditionally go to the SP, is expected to go to independent candidate and local strongman Atiq Ahmed this time, helping the BJP. The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and the Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) have extended support to the SP candidate. Gorakhpur is a home of BJP and Yogi Adityanath Since 1989.

There 19.61 lakh voters in Phulpur parliamentary constituency, while there are 19.49 lakh electorate for Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat.

Despite nine rounds of counting getting over, the District Magistrate gave out only the results of the first round until 11:30, when the BJP had a narrow lead. The direct fight is between SP, BSP and BJP.

Initially, the postal ballots were being counted after which the electronic voting machines (EVMs) will be opened for counting.

The candidates of the Grand Alliance of RJD, Congress and HAM were trailing from all three seats.

Phulpur Bypoll: Samajwadi Party's Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel leading by 1437 votes with 7600 votes, BJP's Kaushlendra Singh Patel 6163 votes after round 3.

Like this: