Published: Wed, March 14, 2018
People | By Leon Thompson

Bihar bypoll UPDATES: BJP leading in Araria, Bhabua; RJD in Jehanabad

Bihar bypoll UPDATES: BJP leading in Araria, Bhabua; RJD in Jehanabad

Of the three bypolls two to Bihar Assembly and one to Lok Sabha in Bihar, it is at Jehanabad Assembly seat that the friends have turned political foes between the Assembly election and bypolls.

There is a lot at stake for the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath in the Uttar Pradesh bye-elections. The ruling JD (U)-BJP combine and the opposition RJD-Congress alliance were locked in a battle on the three seats.

The RJD-Congress alliance is upbeat after a good voter turnout in Araria, Bhabua and Jehanabad and expressed confidence that the alliance candidates will win. The seat was held by the RJD when it contested in alliance with Nitish Kumars JD (U). In absence of Lalu Yadav, who is behind bars in connection with two fodder scam cases, his son and leader of the opposition Tejashwi Yadav spearheaded RJD's poll campaign in Bihar bypolls.

AM: RJD candidate still leading with over 8000 votes.

► BJP leading in Bhabua after 8th round of counting with 19,738 votes. Dynamic security arrangements have been made for counting of votes.

► RJD leading in Jehanabad after 10th round of counting with 29,551 votes.

United States healthcare spending 2x as much as other wealthy nations
The good news is that despite poor overall outcomes, when people are sick, the quality of delivered healthcare is quite high. However, on a per capita basis, the USA spends much more than any other country: $9451 in 2015, compared to Germany's $5267.

# BJP's Upendra Dutt Shukla leading with 15577 votes, SP's Praveen Kumar Nishad second with 13911 votes.

AM: In round six, RJD candidate is ahead by over 6000 votes.

# Samajwadi Party's Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel leading by 1437 votes with 7600 votes, BJP's Kaushlendra Singh Patel 6163 votes after round 3.

In Bhabua, BJP's Rinki Pandey is leading over Congress' Sambhu Patel, while Janta Dal-United's Abhiram Sharma is leading from Jahanabad assembly seat over Rashtriya Janata Dal's Suday Yadav.

The counting will be done for 14 constituencies in which there will be 26 rounds.

The contest in Araria is mainly between RJD's Sarafaraz Alam, Taslimuddin's son, and BJP's Pradip Singh, who had won the seat in 2009 and finished runner-up in 2014.

Like this: