Published: Sun, January 21, 2018
People | By Leon Thompson

How to disable Instagram's controversial new feature, 'Show Activity Status'

How to disable Instagram's controversial new feature, 'Show Activity Status'

While Instagram Stories have always been based on images and video, Instagram has been testing the new Type feature that apparently shows up next to other choices such as Boomerang, Rewind, and Superzoom. The new Activity Status feature allows your friends and followers see when you were last active. Although this feature is switched on by default, it shows your friends how many hours ago you logged in, something that you may not want others to know. The new Active on Instagram that is similar to "Last Seen" on WhatsApp and "Active at" on Facebook Messenger.

The unnerving feature appears on Instagram's direct messages section beneath followers you've been chatting with.

Instagram recently added another feature to the iOS version of the app which makes it easy for a user to see if an account is following them.

I want immigrants to come from everywhere: Donald Trump
Leaders from across the world including from the US President's party voiced their condemnations with many accusing him of racism. Nauert said she would refer to the comments as "alleged comments" because it has not been proven Trump used the vulgarity.

However, Instagram is changing things up when it comes to it's DM feature.

The activity tracking can be turned off relatively easily in "settings". All you need to do is scroll down to the "show activity status" option, which is below other options such as vibration customization and language. This would be an interesting feature if it is in real. There will be a lot of filters also available which you can try out before uploading a new stories. According to sources, this new Type feature will allow users to select the background, fonts and more while adding new texts to the stories. Those users are shown "active now", "active today", "active 5 minutes ago", the same sort of cues you'd expect from an instant messaging app. We have learnt that the feature is now available only for a few select users, albeit on both Android and iOS.

Like this: