Published: Sat, January 13, 2018
Research | By Jody Lindsey

ISRO names Sivan K as new chairman

ISRO names Sivan K as new chairman

"He never went to any tuition or coaching classes". Later, he graduated from ST Hindu College in Nagercoil, he said.

K. Sivan is the chief architect of 6D trajectory simulation software, SITARA which is the back-bone of the real-time and non-real-time trajectory simulations of all ISRO launch vehicles, according to the VSSC.

The appointment of Sivan, who is an alumnus of IIT Bombay, and has contributed significantly in PSLV, GSLV and GSLV Mk-Ill vehicle design, was cleared by the Appointment Committee of Cabinet (ACC).

Sivan is well-known for his contribution to the development of cryogenic engines for India's space programme and is now serving as the Director of Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre in Thiruvananthapuram. He took his ME in Aerospace Engineering from IISc, Bangalore in 1982. He held various responsibilities during his stint in ISRO.

Now serving as the Director of the Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, Sivan will take over incumbent ISRO chief A.S.Kiran Kumar.

In 2014, he received Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) from Sathyabama University, Chennai and Shri Hari Om Ashram Prerit Dr Vikram Sarabhai Research award in 1999.

Nisa Investment Advisors LLC Increases Stake in NVIDIA Corporation (NVDA)
Following the transaction, the director now directly owns 46,868 shares of the company's stock, valued at $10,003,505.92. The computer hardware maker reported $1.33 EPS for the quarter, beating the Zacks' consensus estimate of $0.94 by $0.39.

In his congratulatory letter to Sivan, Palaniswami said his appointment "is a fitting recognition of your long and distinguished career in space research". The entire launch of satellites is expected to happen over a period of 2 hours and 21 seconds, it said.

Dr Sivan is one of the few scientists at ISRO with knowledge of every department of the organisation.

PMK founder S Ramadoss also greeted Sivan and wished him well in his endeavours.

He has contributed to critical projects of ISRO including the parallel computing facility, hypersonic wind-tunnel facility, Mars mission and reusable launch vehicle programme.

The Personnel Ministry issued an order stating that Sivan will serve as Department of Space secretary and chairperson of the space commission for a three-year term.

Like this: