Published: Sat, January 13, 2018
People | By Leon Thompson

BJP MP Parvesh Verma accuses Kejriwal of selling AAP's RS seats

BJP MP Parvesh Verma accuses Kejriwal of selling AAP's RS seats

Sushil Gupta, a former Congress member, resigned from the party as he was offered a Rajya Sabha seat, claimed senior Congress leader Ajay Maken.

Soon after the Aam Aadmi Party announced its Rajya Sabha nominees, disgruntled AAP leader Kumar Vishwas on Wednesday attacked Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal saying that he has been punished for speaking the truth. "Finally, the party decided that people who are not so famous but have done credible work should be nominated", Sisodia said. Sanjay Singh is a member of the PAC, Sushil Gupta is a businessman-cum-social worker and ND Gupta is a chartered accountant.

Clearly blaming Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal for the decision not to nominate him, he said nothing happens in the party without Kejriwal's consent.

On his exclusion from the nomination, AAP leader Kumar Vishwas was quick to express his displeasure and before the mediapersons and also took to Twitter. But his frequent run-ins with Mr Kejriwal, who accuses Mr Vishwas of plotting to overthrow him as AAP chief, cancelled the chances of the poet-politician. Probably, this could be the reason why the party delayed the announcement of the candidates. Arvind (Kejriwal) felt that someone from outside be sent.

Kenyatta to attend ANC birthday celebrations
The meeting marks his first foreign trip since he was sworn in for his second and final term as Kenyan president in November past year .

The party leadership and Vishwas have had a strained relationship over the past year, with the latter openly criticising the AAP for becoming "cult-based".

The three seats will fall vacant as the terms of Karan Singh, Janardhan Dwivedi and Parvez Hashmi will end on January 27. Vishwas, who is the in-charge of party affairs in Rajasthan, is unlikely to accept the offer as his defeat from the seat which is set to witness a prestige electoral battle between the Congress and the BJP is touted to be a foregone conclusion. "I will never compromise on any stand in this video, even if more sacrifices are needed in future, because it's not just me, it's We, The Nation!"

Polls for the three seats will be held on 16 January while the last day for filing nominations is 5 January.

Given AAP's strong majority in the Delhi Assembly, it is likely that their candidates will win the Rajya Sabha election.

Like this: