Published: Sat, January 13, 2018
Sport | By Cameron Gross

Big Bash League Sees First Ever Obstructing the Field Dismissal

Big Bash League Sees First Ever Obstructing the Field Dismissal

Ryan Harris, the former Australia fast bowler and now coach, has been reprimanded and handed a suspended fine of A$3,000 (US$ 2300 approx) for voicing his displeasure at the obstructing-the-field decision made against Alex Ross when playing for Brisbane Heat against Hobart Hurricanes in the Big Bash League.

"Ross was left with no choice but to head back into the hut, however, he let his feelings known about the decision on social media later".

Brisbane Heat batsman Alex Ross has confirmed he did not intentionally obstruct the ball during his side's clash with Hobart Hurricanes on Wednesday.

Putting on his umpire's hat, Payne said he believed the decision should have been not out.

"Of course, the umpire is always right and we congratulate the Hurricanes on their victory".

Despite this, the hilarious and frankly odd wicket of Alex Ross will be remembered for a long time and goes down in the history books of the Big Bash League.

Being given out on account of obstructing the field is indeed a very rare occurrence.

Student guilty of sexual interference would be escorted off campus
Neurauter was sentenced to 90 days in jail, two years of probation and will have to register as a sex offender. The court heard he was 18 when he and the girl had a brief relationship, Kamloops This Week reported .

"It's time to move on. But at the end of the day the umpires understand the rules a lot better than most and we wouldn't have a game without them".

Never before in top line Australian cricket has a batsman been given out "obstructing the field" but Cricket Australia conducted a full review into the incident and announced that umpires were right.

Maxwell wrote: "He was trying not to get hit in the head... and not interfere with the throw".

While running back for the second, Ross changed his trajectory on seeing the ball rushing towards him as he somehow managed to dive into the crease before the throw hit the stumps.

In a series of tweets, Harris let fly at the umpiring decision resulting in Ross' dismissal, a moment that the Heat captain Brendon MCullum later blamed on his opposite number George Bailey for failing to withdraw his appeal.

On that occasion, the former Kiwi captain was writing a column for a United Kingdom newspaper, and lashed Smith for appealing "obstructing the field" when England's Ben Stokes blocked a run-out opportunity from the bowler when he reaching out to block the oncoming ball with his glove in an ODI at Lord's.

Like this: